## NATIONAL GEOSCIENCE AWARDS - 2016

## **LIST OF AWARDEES**

DISCIPLINE AND AWARDS	TYPE OF AWARD
SECTION- I – Mineral Discovery & Exploration	
Field (i): Mineral Discovery & Exploration (excluding fossil fuels) of economic and / or strategic importance and application of innovative techniques) (2 Awards)	
Shri Chittaranjan Dash, GSI Shri Dinesh Kumar Thawait, GSI Shri Rohan Das, GSI Shri Shamiuddin Ahmad, GSI	Team Award
Field (ii) Coal, Lignite and Coal Bed Methane Discovery & Exploration of Economic and / or strategic importance and application of innovative techniques (1 Award)	
Shri Amit Soni, GSI Ms. Manju S., GSI Shri Kailash Chandra Sahoo, GSI Shri Sayan Kahali, GSI	Team Award
Field (iv) Groundwater Exploration (including project development, hydrogeological studies and management of groundwater resources) (1 Award)	
Dr. Pradeep Kumar Naik, CGWB, Chandigarh	Individual Award
SECTION- II - Mining, Mineral Beneficiation And Sustainable Miner	al Development
Field (v) Mining Technology (including development and application of new methods and technologies, research & development, conservation of mineral resources, systematic mine planning, mine safety, mine fires, mine hazards, mine reclamation & rehabilitation) (2 Awards)	
Shri Laxman Singh Shekhawat, Hindustan Zinc Limited, Udaipur	Individual Award
Dr. Santosh Kumar Ray, CSIR- Central Institute of Mining and Fuel Research, Dhanbad	Individual Award
Field - (vii) Sustainable Mineral Development (including mine closure, project development, institutional development and capacity building) (1 Award)	
Dr. Ebhin Reginald Masto, CSIR- Central Institute of Mining and Fuel Research, Dhanbad	Individual Award
SECTION- III – Basic Geosciences	
Field (viii) Basic Geo-sciences (including Stratigraphy, Structural Geology, Paleontology, Geomorphology, Economic Geology, Geodynamics, Petrology and Geochemistry including Mineralogy, Geochronology and Isotope Geology (2 Awards)	

Dr. Santanu Banerjee, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay	Individual Award
SECTION- IV – Applied Geosciences	
Field (ix) Applied Geology: Engineering Geology, Geo-thermal Energy, Seismotectonics, Geo-statistics, Photo-geology and Remote Sensing andf Geo-Information System(including spatial data management applications and data integration) (2 Awards)	
Dr. Atul Nanda, Engineers India Ltd. Dr. Ranjit Rath, Engineers India Ltd. Shri Saikat Pal, Engineers India Ltd. Shri Gopi Kannan, Engineers India Ltd.	Team Award
Prof. Supriyo Mitra, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Kolkata	Individual Award
Field (x) Geophysics / Applied Geophysics: New Technologies in geophysical exploration, application of geophysical methods, geomagnetism, geophysical survey techniques and instrumentation (2 Awards)	
Dr. N. Purnachandra Rao, CSIR-National Geophysical Research Institute, Hyderabad	Individual Award
Dr. Anand Kumar Chaturvedi, AMDER, Hyderabad Shri Markandeyulu Amulothu, AMDER, Hyderabad Dr. Veldi Ramesh Babu, AMDER, Hyderabad Shri Shailesh Tripathi, AMDER, Hyderabad	Team Award
Field (xi) Geo-Environmental Studies relating to mining, urban, industrial, coastal and desert management, paleoclimate, paleoenvironment, medical geology, climate change and studies related to their impact on ecosystem(1 Award)	
Dr. Aradhi Keshava Krishna, CSIR-National Geophysical Research Institute, Hyderabad	Individual Award
Field (xii) Disaster Management including scientific studies related to natural hazards such as earthquakes, landslides, floods and tsunamis (1 Award)	
Prof. Javed Husain N. Malik, IIT, Kanpur	Individual Award
Field (xiii) Ocean Development: Oceanography and Marine Geology (1 Award)	
Dr. Pratima Mohan Kessarkar, CSIR-National Institute of Oceanography, Goa	Individual Award
YOUNG SCIENTIST AWARD - 2016	
Dr. Abhishek Saha, NIO, Goa	